Fun facts about this creole state: Louisiana was named in honor of King Louis XIV. Louisiana is the only state in the union that does not have counties. Its political subdivisions are called parishes. Louisiana’s first territorial governor, William C.C. Claiborne had great admiration for the awkward bird that inhabited the Gulf Coast region. The pelican, rather than let its young starve, would tear at its own flesh to feed them. The Governor’s great respect for the Pelican led him to first use the Pelican symbol on official documents.

Choose Your State
Product Type

Showing all 3 results